Final Reflection Part 1: Reflecting on the Course

Reflection Infographic

More Detailed explanation of the first two questions:

The learning process in this course is very dynamic and it’s not linear. Due to the diversity of the learning sources, the learning outcomes differed. On the personal level, I believe I learned more from the activities and interactions since they help us engage together as classmates and we get to listen to different points of view since the typical classroom lecture is not that beneficial. Having a professor leading the lecture in a more interactive way, moderating discussions is for me hardest than having a professor giving the same lecture every semester saying the same content. So we as students, have to acknowledge the effort that is put in every class o customize it according to us as students alongside the content itself. Having said this, something I will use in my academic life would be to always reflect on everything or most of the things I read or see. In my social life, I guess is to listen more. This is also something I learned in this course and in Soliya too. I always tend to talk a lot, but after I took this class, I started already to pause myself and just listen when people around me talk. Also, everything we learned about digital literacies, security, privacy, how to deal understand how social media works, all of this will impact my social life especially the digital one. Finally, for my career, I guess the all of what I just mentioned could be applied but also, I remember in one of the first classes during the semester, the professor was explaining to us why she chose her profile picture on her blog, and I was fascinated by the level of details she thought of; this is something I will definitely be using. It’s not only about the picture itself, but the thought process she used, I guess this should be used in so many decisions when it comes to acts or choices, I will have to make in my career life. For example, if I chose to say something, how much will it reveal about my personality, how will it affect my work, is it really necessary to say it, could it be taken in different ways, etc.

There are several special blogposts I would love to show that reflect my learning in this course. We can start by the blogpost about model minority. https://chalboobainaction.wordpress.com/2021/10/03/what-i-hear-when-you-say/

We were asked to choose a video that talks about a topic and reflect on it, I chose model minority video and I started to reflect on it, but I also did research about it and I wanted to know more how universities are dealing with such an issue since universities are one of the very diverse places full of young people. I found a booklet Denver university did to raise awareness about several topics relating to Asian discrimination, one of the topics were model minority. Lastly, I tried to make a small visual infographic that summarizes what I wrote in the blogpost. Since the course is about digital literacies, one of the things we have learned is how to use digital tools to convey something, to explain an idea using digital tools, that is why I think this blogpost will reflect my learning in this course.

The second blogpost would be the game because it shows how we learned to design something that will put the users of the game in specific emotions and feelings we decided. For me this was a very powerful assignment. Being able to choose how a person will feel for a couple of minutes while using digital tools is something very powerful and creative. I really enjoyed learning about tools I did not know about slides and enjoyed learning about the thought process itself of creating a game.

the third blogpost would be about Soliya because it got me thinking about online engagement in different ways. Since during the pandemic, I hated online classes and zoom, because it was very boring and not engaging. I always thought that online interaction is linear and it’s not interactive. However, Soliya allowed me to connect with people around the world with different cultures and ideologies. The moderators were able to create a highly interactive session, fun and fruitful as well. There was a balance between the learning and the fun. I guess what was happening in the Soliya sessions was very much like what was happening during class however it was online, so it was more challenging.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started